16th January

It was a bright but icy start to the week – I had to pop out at about 8 to go down to our local Aldi to pick up a few things for one of the girl’s Food Tech lessons and as I walked down the street I noticed how quiet it was and that all of the windscreens were covered in ice. When I returned a few minutes later it was like someone had switched the week on as the streets were bustling now and there was more traffic on the roads and in the streets. After I got back to the house I went and started the car and defrosted the windscreen ready for the journey to work.

While we’re on the subject of cars and ice I did the thing I’d been putting off since before Christmas and opened my car insurance renewal. I was expecting it to go up as I’d had a prang before Christmas and as such knew I’d lost some of my no claims bonus but to be honest even I was shocked by what I saw. The premium, which had been in the range of around £500 had increased to a massive £1,387 (or £1,590 if I paid monthly) and my payments had gone up from around £40 a month to £144 – I was gobsmacked – the insurance was only £13 less than the value of the car.

So I did what I knew I should do and went online to compare the market. I put in all my details and pressed the get quote button and held my breath. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cheapest quote came in at £604 – a massive saving of over £700! Needless to say that I took the chance and bought the cheaper insurance. I then had the pleasure of ringing the AA (yes my old car insurance is through that august establishment who are meant to look after the interests of motorists) and telling them I was canceling the policy  – and no I didn’t want them to see if they could reduce it for me! The excess is less too!

And of course the advantage of buying my insurance through Compare the Market is that I get the free Meerkat toy! To be honest if I’d let another chance to get one slip I’d have been in trouble anyway! So after I sorted out my policy I went and ordered the Meerkat – apparently it is just leaving Meerkovo in a wheelbarrow as I type. Here are some screenshots!

Sarah said tonight “I want to watch that program about shoplifters later because my cousin’s on it”………pause, roll of eyes, “he’s one of the store detectives!”

Absolutely gutted today – I’d been watching a pair of stereo microphones on ebay for ages – nobody had bid on them until the last day. I left it until 20 seconds from the end and was outbid on them twice. Look at them they’re gorgeous!

Luckily there’s a couple more microphones I’ve got my eye on coming up tomorrow – fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

