25th January

Bonie wee thing, cannie wee thing, 
Lovely wee thing, wert thou mine, 
I wad wear thee in my bosom, 
Lest my jewel it should tine. 

Wishfully I look and languish 
In that bonie face o’ thine, 
And my heart it stounds wi’ anguish, 
Lest my wee thing be na mine. 

Wit, and Grace, and Love, and Beauty, 
In ae constellation shine; 
To adore thee is my duty, 
Goddess o’ this soul o’ mine! 

It’s my wife’s birthday today and it’s also Burn’s night so I thought the above poem by the great man to be rather apt even though it was written in 1791. Our son was somewhat excited this morning – even more so than the missus! we almost had to scrape him down from the ceiling!

I had a weird dream this morning – I dreamt the boss called me in for a word! He then showed me a video on his phone during which I was seen to walk through a door – he told me it was a security video that he’d been sent by a venue and asked me what I could see that was wrong. He played it again and in the brief few seconds I was visible I couldn’t see I was doing anything other than walk through a door. I said I didn’t know…..

…..he then told me that I could be plainly seen wearing headphones and as he played it again I could see my purple skullcandy’s on my head. he then proceeded to tell me that the hotel had complained as wearing headphones in the venue was prohibited due to health and safety reasons because, for example, I wouldn’t be able to hear the fire alarm go off!

A Facebook friend of mine posted a status about a dream she had where she was with her Gran and how seeing her Gran in her dream had made her feel both happy and sad. It sparked off a memory of a dream I had many years ago just after my first daughter was born which almost reduced me to tears.

My mum had died almost 9 months to the day before the birth of what would have been her first grandchild. She loved kids and would have been so happy to have been a grandmother but it was not to be. A few months after the birth I had a dream where I walked into the living room from the bedroom in our flat in Walthamstow – a journey which involved going round a corner and as I did I saw my mum sitting in a chair looking at my daughter who was sitting in her little rocker. As I walked in she looked up at me and smiled.

It’s hard to even describe how I felt after that dream. It was like she had returned from the other side to let me know that she knew I was a dad. It was so real that all of those feelings of sadness I had about her not seeing her grandchild just disappeared.

Postkat has managed to get off the Prince of Arabia’s boat and has managed to get to Berlin with my toy meerkat now.

As we were going to bed I heard a load of shouting outside in the street, not and unusual occurrence as drunks seems to wander down our street regularly on their way home and there does seem to be a general fashion for communicating with your companions in public at the top of your lungs round here! Anyway I looked out of the bedroom window but couldn’t see anything. I then went off to find where the cat was hiding (under daughters duvet!) and by the time I got back there were blue flashing lights. In total there were 5 Police cars outside the window all with lights flashing – our bedroom was like a monochromatic disco!

Leave a Reply

