26th January

A black eyed dog he called at my door
The black eyed dog he called for more
A black eyed dog he knew my name

The last two days I have felt low for no discernible reason, it just suddenly came over me yesterday. It’s odd because on Tuesday night I felt as good as I had for quite some time, really positive and full of life but by the following morning it had all gone and been replaced by an empty morose feeling. I have in the past suffered from full blown depression but where I am at the moment is far from that (thank goodness) – but I do need to find a way out of it as soon as I can.

I got a head full of ideas
That are drivin’ me insane

That’s the odd thing – I have got a head full of things I want to do, as I said I started sorting out those pictures I took last year the other day and since buying the microphone I’ve been thinking about sound recording a lot too. I even revisted some of the recordings a did a while ago but there’s still this mental block that for some reason has left me in a state of melancholia. It’s bloody annoying!

Or maybe that is the problem – too many things I want to do and not enough time to do it in. Tonight for example I’m working up in London till 8pm which means I won’t get home till about 10 so won’t have any time to do anything constructive. That on top of losing half my weekend to work as well means I’ve not had much free time in the last week. Maybe that’s the source of the low feeling.

I had to go up to London for a video shoot in the afternoon so I caught the train to Cannon Street arriving there at around 5. The problem with arriving in London at that time is that everyone else is going home so you’re fighting against a solid tide of people who are heading to the trains (swimming against the tide – a metaphor for my life really!) – it’s the same if you’ve done an all nighter and are trying to get home at around 8:30 in the morning!

So I arrive at the venue and my camera is delivered. The first thing I notice is that there isn’t a cable trunk but I take the camera anyway. Once inside I’m lucky that there are power sockets on the floor for me to plug into but when I do and switch the camera on – nothing! I try lots of things thinking maybe it’s the socket, it’s not, maybe it’s the power cable, it’s not before finally noticing that this particular camera has 2 on/off switches!

That panic over I also notice that there isn’t a video tape. This of course is kinda essential if you are to make a recording but luckily for me I’ve had this problem before and I always try and throw one into my back before leaving. Then I’m supposed to take a sound feed from the venue PA system. I ask if there’s anyone who can help but there isn’t! So I have to go into the AV room and work out their patch system. Again luckily for me there turns out to be a socket marked record out so I plug into that using the cables I found in the AV room and run them back to the camera. The levels aren’t great but they’ll do!

Then once I’m set up the presenter is one of those restless souls who insists on moving constantly throughout his presentation so I’m having to following him all the time. Then at the end of the event they invite the punters to have a drink which are laid out right next to me so I’m having to pack up the camera whilst being trodden on by those souls desperate for a drink! The topic of the presentation was how to network and of course I can hear all the punters trying out the techniques they’d just learnt while stuffing their faces with pies and booze. The client then offered me a drink which I accepted as I bloody needed one by then!!!

Oh dear Postkat seems to have taken another wrong turn as he now seems to have taken my meerkat toy to Athens.

Leave a Reply

