30th January

What’s the matter with me
I don’t have much to say
Daylight sneakin’ through the window
And I’m still in this all-night café
Walkin’ to and fro beneath the moon
Out to where the trucks are rollin’ slow
To sit down on this bank of sand
And watch the river flow

A week or so ago I blogged about a man I’d heard on one of the 9 o’clock discussion shows on Radio 4 who had been a music critic until he had lost the hearing in one ear and how he’d written a book about his experiences and his attempt to learn to feel music again by remembering experiences associated with various pieces. I remarked that his book was being serialised as Book of the Week on Radio 4 and it started this morning.

He recounted stories such as the time he bought his first album in 1973 (Razamanaz by Nazareth) and when he got home his father insisted on listening to it with him. I enjoyed the description of his father listening to it and actually found myself sitting in a similar position whilst listening to the one he described his father in! I’m sure I’d be the same (or am the same) when listening to some of the stuff the kids think is music (joke).

His description of his memory associated with a piece called Dies natalis by Gerald Finzi was so good it almost moved me to tears. I’m looking forward to the rest of the week (and may consider buying the book). It also reminded me that I hadn’t listened to the final edition of last weeks book – A Shed of one’s own, Midlife without the Crisis!

It was an interesting book some of which I could identify with (Hairs growing in your ears, annoyance, intolerance of litter etc) and other’s that I still have to look forward to. I liked the end where he lists the three rules of middle age

1. You only live once
2. Your main duty to others is to be kind
3. Your main duty to yourself is not to be bored!

Leave a Reply

