7th March

From the corner of my eye I saw the sun explode
I didn’t look directly ’cause it would have burned my soul
When the smoke and thunder cleared enough to look around
I heard a sweet guitar lick, an old familiar sound
I heard a laugh I recognised come rolling from the earth
Saw it rise into the skies like lightning giving birth
It sounded like Garcia but I couldn’t see the face
Just the beard and the glasses and a smile on empty space

I have this bugbear at work – clients ask for their videos to be provided as electronic versions and I usually ask what they want. This is usually met with complete vagueness so my format of choice is mp4 and in the absence of any other requests send files out in that format. This is usually followed a few days later by a request to supply as such and such a format.

This morning I got a phone call and an e-mail about a job that I’d done back in October where I had provided, in the absence of other direction the video as an mp4 file and as a playable DVD. What caught my eye though was the statement about half way down the e-mail where it said “Prior to the conference the advice passed on was that:……” and it went on to outline what formats could be accepted. It caught my eye because as I said earlier I’d never received any specifications and as I commented “I would know if I’d got that because that’s the sort of info I always moan that I never get!”

Gutted! While I was in my meeting tonight I missed Stevie Wishart, the Hurdy Gurdy player on Radio 3’s In Tune. Must remember to catch it again on iplayer!

Leave a Reply

