25th April

It’s a shame that the weather hasn’t improved in the same way as my mood! Unfortunately it’s gone the opposite way – I woke up feeling down still but have slowly picked up as the day has gone along. The weather, on the other hand, has just gone from bad to worse as the day has progressed. Still at least I didn’t have to go out in it like the missus!

I decided to start something I’ve been wanting to do for ages. I’ve been mulling over doing something with the myriad of tickets, programmes, photographs and other memorabilia that I have collected over almost 35 years of concert going. So on Sunday I set up a new blog on my server so I could add stuff when I get the chance. This was inspired by another blog I visited recently where someone who went to some of the same gigs as me is adding posts about various shows he went to.

I haven’t written anything yet but I did put together some headers for the blog. I thought I’d create a number of images that could appear randomly when a page is loaded. I did ones for Thin Lizzy, Led Zeppelin and Gong:

There was an odd story on Radio 4’s Today program this morning about Testcard music. They had an interview with a guy from the band St. Etienne who was raving about how the music that was played with the testcard influenced a whole generation of musicians! The reason was that there is an event at the ICA in London called A Girl, A Clown, A Blackboard: Trade Test Transmissions which discusses the development of the testcard. The story also informed me about the existence of a society called the Test Card Circle who are dedicated to test cards and the music that accompanies them – which apparently you can buy CD’s of – should you so wish!

Leave a Reply

