8th May

The day they knocked down the palais 
My sister stood and cried. 
The day they knocked down the palais 
Part of my childhood died, just died. 

They put a parking lot on a piece of land 
Where the supermarket used to stand. 
Before that they put up a bowling alley 
On the site that used to be the local palais. 
That’s where the big bands used to come and play. 

I’ve decided that Radio 4 is addictive! Every night I get in the car to drive home and get a CD out of the glove compartment to listen to. However by the time I’ve done that I’m usually caught up in whatever is on PM at the time. So I think to myself “I’ll just listen to PM and then put the CD on”. Then before you know it it’s 6 o’clock and the bongs have started. I find myself listening to the headlines and before I know it I’m sucked into the news. Some nights it’s hard to break the spell and I don’t actually get the CD on at all!

Leave a Reply

