28th May

image

On Friday I found myself thinking that I’d never been on the Docklands Light Railway (DLR). Then this morning I had to go to a meeting at Canary Wharf and discovered that the quickest way to get there was to get off the train at Woolwich Arsenal and catch the DLR – weird coincidence huh?

I enjoyed the elevated journey through the old docks where there is still, despite years of development a startling contrast between the new high tech office blocks and the functional brick built warehouses, the swish of the financial service sector set against the bump and grind of manual industry.

I was heading for a meeting in one of the tower blocks that dominate the skyline of the wharf. In fact our meeting turned out to be on the 40th floor reached by an elevator that ran non stop from the ground causing your ears to pop on the way! I reached my destination and was looking for my colleague. Unable to see her I stepped into the shadow cast by the building so I could see the screen on my mobile to call her. I was instantly pounced upon by a security man who told me to move on. When I explained that I was there for a meeting he ordered me inside. If that’s their welcome it’s a good job I don’t owe them any money……oh hang on a minute I do!

Leave a Reply

