29th May

Today is the first anniversary of the death of my Gran, a few days after her 100th birthday. I’ve been trying to find the right words to express my feelings all day but have failed miserably. These are the only one’s that I could think of to sum up her life…..

And our village is where I was born and it’s where I will die
And I’ll never be able to leave it whatever I try
The ebb and the flow of the forces of life pass me by
Which is all that I’ll know from my birth to my last gasping sigh 

It was with a cruel irony that the developers in Sunderland chose today to knock the last bit of the Mayfair down finally removing the last of my memories of growing up in Sunderland. One year after my last relative in Sunderland went my memories went too.

And it’s whispered that soon if we all call the tune
Then the piper will lead us to reason
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter

There’s a lady who’s sure all that glitters is gold
And she’s buying a stairway to heaven
When she gets there she knows, if the stores are all closed
With a word she can get what she came for
and she’s buying a stairway to heaven

RIP The Mecca 1964-2012

Photographs by Linda Roy

Advertising awards ceremony tonight – been doing this one since it started 14 years ago. Advertising had really changed in that time, back then there were 3 main mediums – print, poster and TV. Then slowly websites started to appear until now there are so many categories it takes hours to get through them all – advertainment, experiential, guerilla, viral and other digital categories. It sometimes seems that in the last few years the measure of a good advertising campaign has changed too – once it was about how many units they sold, now it seems to be about how many hits or likes it garnered!

Leave a Reply

