1st June

It was one of those mornings – no hot water, cat had had a poo in the bath, forgot to get the bread out of the freezer – I was ready to go back to bed and stay there by half seven. Things picked up but while driving to work I was a blubbing mess before they’d even played the first song on Desert Island Discs!! The castaway was Denise Robertson, who I confess I hadn’t heard of even though she is also from Sunderland but by the time they played Louis Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World she’d managed to reduce me to tears. She is also the first castaway I can recall hearing who you could tell was having a sniffle as she talked about her life.

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world

image

Leave a Reply

