2nd July

I did a job a few months back at the T5 Hilton and one of the speakers, Dr Fons Trompenaars, asked me if I could send him a copy of the video we shot of his presentation. I said it wasn’t a problem and he gave me his business card. Then by the time I’d got back to the office I’d managed to lose the card. I asked the Project Manager on the job to contact the client and see if they could get the contact details for me but I assume he had other priorities so I didn’t get them. I felt a bit guilty about the whole thing to be honest.

Then I spotted that he was also speaking at the event in Budapest last week so I made a CD with the presentation on it and stuck it in my bag before I went. He came into the speaker ready room where I was stationed and after he’d checked his slides I handed him the disc. I explained that I owed him an apology, that I’d lost his card and had seen he was appearing so i had brought a copy – he seemed genuinely pleased and again asked if I could send him a copy of the presentation he was about to give. I joked that I’d need his card again!!

Then today while looking for my memory stick in the bottom of my bag I came across one of those little wallet things that they give you to keep your key in in hotels. I opened it and what should fall out but Dr Trompenaars’ business card – of course I have been through that bag loads of times since the first conference and not once have I seen that wallet. It’s a funny old world!

I came upon a child of God
He was walking along the road
And I asked him where are you going
And this he told me
I’m going on down to Yasgur’s farm 
I’m going to join in a rock ‘n’ roll band
I’m going to camp out on the land
I’m going to try an’ get my soul free

Leave a Reply

