7th November

Well thank the lord for that! Obama was re-elected as President of the USA. I really do dread to think what the world would have been like if that idiot Romney had got in.

Once upon a time if I needed to remember which party was which in America I used to have to sing a verse fro heaven 17’s first single Fascist Groove thang to myself…..

Democrats are out of power 
Across that great wide ocean 
Reagan’s president elect 
Fascist God in motion

However now thanks to Mitt Romney I will forever know that the Republicans are the right wing idiots who claim to have god on their side. I couldn’t believe the rubbish they came out with before, during and after the election.

Apart from the obvious comments like the odious one about women’s bodies being able to shut down in cases of legitimate rape there were two I saw on Facebook and Twitter last night that I couldn’t believe.

A friend of a friend who was espousing his republican views said that if Obama got in then America would become a communist state! Yeah right it just goes to show how much these people think! Do they really believe that any attempt to look after the most vulnerable in  society amounts to communism? Do they really know what communism actually is/was?

I doubt it because despite them claiming to be Christians I don’t think they’ve ever read the bible (or if they have they didn’t get as far as the New Testament!). It annoys the fuck out of me that people who profess to be Christians always seem to quote the “eye for a eye” of the Old Testament rather than the “turn the other cheek” from the New! It seems that most fundamentalist Christians actually ignore the teachings of Christ and prefer instead the vengeful god of the Old Testament – which probably means they’re following the wrong religion!!

On Twitter this morning Irvine Welsh re-tweeted some comments about the election from ” former American comedian, actress, satirist and singer turned anti-gay political activist” Victoria Jackson. Here are the 3 tweets:

“I can’t stop crying. America died”

“The Democrat Party voted God out and replaced Him with Romans 1. In the Good vs. Evil battle…today…Evil won.”

and my particular favourite:

“Thanks a lot Christians, for not showing up. You disgust me”

I re-tweeted that last one and added “why America got it right yesterday – I’m sorry but this is not the Christianity that Christ taught”

With people like this supporting them it’s no wonder the Republicans lost out and unless they stop coming over as right-wing lunatics I can’t see them getting back into power any time soon!

If these are the people I’d meet in heaven then (and excuse me for quoting of all people Billy Joel)

 I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints

Apparently veteran rocker Ted Nugent, who was famous long ago, has been spouting vitriol at the re-election of Obama. His tweets include:

“Pimps whores & welfare brats & their soulless supporters hav a president to destroy America”

“What subhuman varmint believes others must pay for their obesity booze cellphones birthcontrol abortions & lives”

“Goodluk America u just voted for economic & spiritual suicide. Soulless fools”

Nice!

So as far as he is concerned it is better to have a “hard working rich man” make his fortune by borrowing money to buy companies, making them pay back the debt, forcing them out of business and making people unemployed through no fault of their own. This makes someone a better person than someone who would want to look after those people in their hour of need?

Hard working people who lost their jobs because of the greed of one person who, according to Nugent, shouldn’t have to pay taxes to support these people and their families because as far as he’s concerned they’re lazy, good for nothing scroungers!

As I said before – with people like this behind them no wonder they lost.

Anyway – in other news! Second day of filming at Imeche and as I’m packing up a technician turns up to help me de-rig (although I’m 95% done when he does). I explain that I’m copying the files from the memory card from the camera onto the computer hard drive. Next thing I know is that there is a crash and the memory card reader is on the floor and the cable has come out. He apologises and tells me it had finished copying. I’m sure it had but it would have been nice to have checked myself!

Gave blood tonight for the 46th time. They now have these natty reclining chairs to give blood in. As I’m reclined I got to thinking that they’d be great for sleeping in when I get my cluster headaches. Having said that it was only the second time they’d used them and I was going backwards and forwards a few times till she worked out how to lock it! (and at the end she brought me up so far that I almost slid off!). Had a nice chat with a man who had just got his 75th donation award, he was telling me about being a platelet donor and how he’d had to give it up due to the 90 mile round trip to Brentwood – which is what put me off!

Sarah’s OU work had to be submitted before midnight so it was a last minute panic as usual to get it in. At about 3 minutes to I was called over to double space the last part of it and she asked if I could put her student code in the header so it appeared on each page. Unfortunately I couldn’t remember where the Header/Footer command was and we were just about to give up when I spotted it. I managed to get the code inserted with Sarah shouting at me and we saved the document. She then discovered that she hadn’t logged in to the OU yet and another panic ensued while she did that until eventually with 23 seconds to go it was done!!

Leave a Reply

