6th December

First blog from new phone which turned up just afterwards 4pm yesterday afternoon. It’s very nice and despite being a bit bigger than the old HTC it’s also a bit thinner! I’m slowly getting used to it although there are a few things I’m going to miss.  You kind of assume that certain features are part of the Android software but they turn out to be part of the manufacturers tweeks.

One advantage is that this phone can use Google chrome instead of the native browser.  I also like the S-planner calendar that comes with the phone but the colour scheme is awful! It took a bit of time to work out the syncing with Google calendar but now it works. In the process of sorting that out I downloaded Google’s calendar app which although it doesn’t have a good interface does have a much better widget! All 3 seem to work in tandem so that’s cool.

Things I’ll miss are some of the cool HTC widgets I used to use and the ability to select people’s Facebook pictures in contacts. Also the keyboard doesn’t have the press and hold for symbols like on the HTC!

I did discover the voice control on the phone and was so impressed that I demonstrated it to Sarah by sending her a text. I don’t think she was overly enthusiastic though!

image

Update – I’ve found the punctuation shortcuts now! Some appear above the keyboard when you press the space bar others are available by long pressing the full stop key.

I used to think that the sum 1+1=2 was quite simple and straight forward until I listened to Melvyn Bragg’s Radio 4 program In our time on Bertrand Russell this morning!

It’s nature’s way of telling you something’s wrong
It’s nature’s way of telling you in a song
It’s nature’s way of receiving you
It’s nature’s way of retrieving you
It’s nature’s way of telling you
Something’s wrong

RIP Ed Cassidy 1923 – 2012

Oh no, something went wrong 
Well you’re much too fat and a little too long 
Hey hey, you got too much to lose 
Gotta find your way back to the Animal Zoo

Leave a comment